HOME > Precinct Guide > 17-Imamiya Shrine 今宮

Precinct Guide

17-Imamiya Shrine 今宮

Enshrined kami:
Emperor Gotoba,
Emperor Tsuchimikado,
Emperor Juntoku.
Main Annual Rite:
7th June

This shrine was built to commemorate the three emperors who were all banished from the capital after the Jokyu disturbance in 1221 in which the Retired Emperor Go-Toba tried to overthrow the power of the Kamakura shogunate and regain independence for the Imperial Court.


← 16-Shirahata-Jinja Shrine 白旗神社 ← The Map 18-Soreisha 祖霊社 (Ancestral Shrine) →


Copyright (C) The Tsurugaoka Hachimangu All Rights Reserved.